PDA

View Full Version : Stupid questions from a stupid guy

yohann976
Thu Sep 14, 2006, 02:00 AM
First things first. I have a 90 gallon tank with four discus. I've been attempting to successfully grow plants in the tank for about six months now. I now use Greg Watson ferts and Seachem Excel for a carbon substitute. For substrate, I have eco-complete. Actually, I have made great steps forward, but I still suck!

For the most part, my plants are growing great. My water sprite and riccia have shown ridiculous growth since my switch to the GW ferts. They are the only plants that don't have algae growing all over them. This algae is brownish in color and looks like fine tangled spiderwebs. It can form into these clumps that are a couple inches high and wide. What is it? That honestly is about the only algae I have left in the tank that is out of control. I still have staghorn algae (I think) that occasionally grows on the edges of old leaves, but I just cut the dying leaves off. I also used to have a cyano outbreak, but that went away as soon as I started using the GW ferts.

Now here comes a couple of stupid questions. Since this is a planted tank, should I just do a 50% water change once a week so that my dosing schedule will be easier? I've been changing 25% to 30% twice a week so far. Now I need to know how in the heck do I do a dosing schedule. I know that you are supposed to dose Macros everyother day and Micros on the opposing days, but I need to know how much. I know how to, with the dosing calculator, get to the proper levels but I don't how to take it from there. If I could just get an idea of how much of each fert to dose each day, I could tweak the system.

If I have left anything out that could help you guys help me, please feel free to ask. Oh yeah, I don't test my water parameters for phosphates and I use very very little of it in my fertilization.

yohann976
Sun Sep 17, 2006, 01:30 PM