PDA

View Full Version : Fertile Eggs???

elvip
Wed Aug 16, 2006, 10:43 PM
Hi guys,
I am so excited :wave2 :wave2 !!! I have finally had a spawn from a new pair of discus I bought a week ago and they haven't eaten the eggs!
I was just complaining the other day that I couldn't get a break - as one of my favourite discus died just the other day unexpectedly and reason unknown :cry: :cry:, and I have has a few spawns before (different pair) but eggs were all eaten straight away.
After sheer sadness there is finally utter happiness!!!!

Anyway as I am a newbie to discus breeding I would like to know if anyone out there knows how long it will be before the eggs turn white if they are not fertilised?? - as I am not sure if this batch has been fertilised.
They were laid last night (in front of my eyes!) and this morning were still a golden brown/orange colour.
The suspense is killing me and I am dying to know if they are fertile or not :?: !!!
Any help would be much appreciated.
Cheers
Elvip

nicholas76
Wed Aug 16, 2006, 11:08 PM
Congrats mate!

BUT dont get too excited,, they may still eat them!!

in relation to fertility, non fertile eggs will go tic tac white within the first 24 hours.

each fertile egg will develop a tiny black dot. If you see these dots your on a good batch :D In 48 hours time ( depending upon your tank temp ) and you will know for sure !!!!

remember to utilise a night lamp so the parents can guard the fry.

elvip
Wed Aug 16, 2006, 11:23 PM
Thanks for the advise Nicholas,
The pair are on their own - 4foot tank with divider in the middle and a pair on either side.
So do I still need to leave the light on even though the eggs haven't hatched??
Thanks
Elvip

nicholas76
Thu Aug 17, 2006, 07:14 AM
IMO Discus need to protect there eggs day and night. Without proper light they lose sight of there eggs and this creates undue stress.

stressed discus = eaten eggs.

thats just my opinoin again