PDA

View Full Version : My planted tank looks like crap

Dearra
Mon Aug 14, 2006, 01:38 PM
Hi everyone,

My planted tank looks like crap. I really need some advice on what is going on. I am no expert on this, so I will try and explain the best I can.

I have got Seachem Flourite on the bottom of the tank.

I use Flourish Excel and Flourish Iron.

I have brown algae all over my plants and gravel.

Everyday I do an iron test, and always have a zero reading.I was putting in 2 mls a week for 3 weeks and this week I have been putting 5 mls of iron in daily to see if that helps, and it just doesn't stay there.

I was putting 5 mls Flourish Excel in 3 times a week, but I think I might change that to every day for a while.

Also, I am pretty sure I do not have enough lighting. I only have 70 watts. A 4ft tube and a 3 ft tube. I have got some doubles on order. I have the lights on for 12 hours a day.

My plants are growing tall and spindly.

I do a 25% w/c one week, and 50% the next week. (Do I still only put in 5 mls of flourish excel after a w/c.) Maybe, I am not putting enough in. (I don't want to kill my Discus to get the plants to look nice.)

Could somebody please help me. I am so dissappointed. I hope I have not confused everybody.

Thanks
Dearra

Ben
Mon Aug 14, 2006, 02:01 PM
Dearra what you need to do for us is to post a photo!

then we can all help you a little better.

Ben

anti-generic
Tue Aug 15, 2006, 12:32 AM
Seachem flourite provides alot of iron for plant roots already. You dont need to over dose Seachem iron aswell. Also dosing Seachem excel is only adding CO2.

You need Macro nutrients!!!
theres no main food for your plants. You need nitrates, potassium and a little phosphates.

And I need to know how big your tanks is to find out if you have enough lighting

As for a planted discus tank theres nothing wrong with your water changing routine.

Cheers,
Eric

Dearra
Tue Aug 15, 2006, 01:11 AM
Forgot to add my tank size.

It is Lenght 4 foot
Width 14 inches