PDA

View Full Version : foreplay

azzakat
Wed Aug 02, 2006, 07:25 AM
I've been keeping discus for about 6 months now and have a proven pair that
have been going through pre-spawning behaviour (in their own 2ft tank)
on and off for about 10 weeks now. My problem is they haven't
spawned for me at all, they go through the pre-spawning behaviour
but that's it. I have contacted the breeder that i bought them from and she said
I have been doing everything right and doesn't know why they haven't spawned and also has no more advice for me.
please help. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Mulisha
Wed Aug 02, 2006, 07:32 AM
I have heard from many previous posts one way to triggers spawning is to do a large w/c and add cooler water to the tank only like a couple of degress cooler and that sometimes triggers them. One other thing is feed them a varied diet full of high proteins.

Good Luck mate maybe a picture of the pair as well :wink:

azzakat
Wed Aug 02, 2006, 07:41 AM
I have been doing the cooler water changes and giving them a good amount of bloodworm after the water change as instructed by the breeder
but still no luck :cry: this is why the breeder has no more advice for me as this is what she does and had done with this pair with great success.

Nathan
Wed Aug 02, 2006, 07:56 AM
what are all your water parameters, an what exactly was the pre spawning behaviour?

as mulisha said a varied diet is a must just with keeping discus let alone breeding them, are you feeding them anything else apart from bloodworms?

should also try an get live brine shrimp or other live foods which u kno that dont have diseases.

azzakat
Wed Aug 02, 2006, 08:07 AM
what are all your water parameters, an what exactly was the pre spawning behaviour?

as mulisha said a varied diet is a must just with keeping discus let alone breeding them, are you feeding them anything else apart from bloodworms?