PDA

View Full Version : Help PLEASE!! PH to high

talsfishies
Wed Jul 19, 2006, 06:58 AM
HI all i'm a newbie here,
I have just started to keep discus, i have been breeding cichlids for years, but decided to try something new.
I live in Brisbane, i've found the PH levels to be to high, what is the cheapest and easiest way to keep it down, at present i am using Seachem liquid discus buffer, and it takes a 500ml bottle to do one water change..
Please can anyone help or give advice
all comments are greatly appreciated

Thank you for time.

jim from sydney
Wed Jul 19, 2006, 10:16 AM
I have just started to keep discus, i have been breeding cichlids for years, but decided to try something new.
I live in Brisbane, i've found the PH levels to be to high, what is the cheapest and easiest way to keep it down, at present i am using Seachem liquid discus buffer, and it takes a 500ml bottle to do one water change..

Thank you for time.

Welcome Pal.....better to give us some numbers i.e. the water parameters that you have, that way it is easier to advice...thanks

DR.V
Wed Jul 19, 2006, 10:32 AM
What is your pH ??

Peat moss and some driftwood in the tank can help reduce pH.

HTH

Nathan
Wed Jul 19, 2006, 11:47 AM
i think peat may be your best option if your lookn for a cheap one

FishLover
Wed Jul 19, 2006, 01:49 PM
Seachem discus buffer powder is cheap enough for me. Cheaper than peat for sure.

I can get the powder for about $15 a kg, which can treat about 1400 g of water. That should last me about 5 months. $3 a month is nothing compare to the peat I used to go through.

taksan
Wed Jul 19, 2006, 01:55 PM

Thank you for time.

What do you call too high? Give us levels !
Perhaps its your substrate thats raising the PH?
Do you have any rocks in there?

talsfishies
Thu Jul 20, 2006, 11:38 AM
Seachem discus buffer powder is cheap enough for me. Cheaper than peat for sure.