PDA

View Full Version : 6 ... no make that 10 Mixed Discus in a 4ft Tank **UPDATED**

Daetarek
Fri Feb 24, 2006, 06:09 AM
Hi All,

I am new to this but i want to share my pics of my discus and if anyone can tell me anything about them that would be cool, i have no idea on sexes for example.

ta
Rob

Daetarek
Fri Feb 24, 2006, 06:12 AM
Since i am not sure how to post pics properly here yet, i have done it this way :)

Merrilyn
Fri Feb 24, 2006, 08:44 AM
Hi Rob, and a very warm welcome to the forum. Your tank is lovely, and your fish look happy and healthy.

I believe that first fish is a Blue Ghost, very pretty and unusual colouration. As far as the sex of the fish goes, there is absolutely no way of telling at this age. Even adult fish are almost imposssible to sex, so I'm afraid there's no chance of telling you the sex of these juveniles. :P

Your little snakeskin may surprise you, and grow into a lovely fish. I have found that the colour on blue snakeskins is very slow to come in, so just give this little guy some good food, good water and a bit more time.

jim from sydney
Fri Feb 24, 2006, 10:12 AM
Hi Rob...nice set up you have there Pal...and welcome......is this your first discus attempt and what camera did you use for these top shots???Jim

Daetarek
Fri Feb 24, 2006, 10:33 AM
not quite my first attempt i had a few disasters last year but i have persevered, i lost a few but the red survived the holocaust as it were, and is now just over a year old, i have an older picture here from last year, the other five i have got over the last two months.

He had very red eyes when he was young and now they are more yellow gold, any ideas why ? is it to do with food etc ?

Merrilyn
Fri Feb 24, 2006, 10:42 AM
A golden eye is just normal colouration. Some fish have red eyes and some have golden eyes. Both is correct. Your young fish may have been fed colour food before you got him which made the eye colour red.