PDA

View Full Version : hey there.. should i be scared?

Stuquarium
Thu Apr 28, 2005, 07:52 AM
hey guys. i'm new to the discus world and while my new 55g is cycling for the 1st time i've been thinking about whatfish to keep.

and the fish that stand out the most is discus. i dont mind spending the money on a pair. epecially a breeding pair.

should i be scared of owning them? knowing they need special requriements. ie soft water..

i have a medium peice of driftwood in the tank and some red rock with a gravel substrate. i'll be adding more DW in the future. and i plan on doing weekly water changes.

i have silver dollars (3) in the tank atm and i think i'll keep them in there in with the discus. i'm using a AquaOne cannister filter. and theres a bubble wall to..

only have a year or so's ecperiance with fish am i ready? or am i wasting my money? these fish really apeal to me

goldenpigeon
Thu Apr 28, 2005, 08:23 AM
first welcome to the forum!

no i think you will be just fine with discus. most people get spooked away from discus because pet shop fools or information on the internet says discus are for the experienced aquariust only. this infact is completely untrue! anybody can keep discus as long as they just understand a few basic and super easy rules. discus are actually quite tough!

k just a few thing u need to know about discus:

1. discus need regular water changes. 30% every second day is fantastic! if your tank is set up in a good place this will be a breez! in the end it will be worth it!

2. discus need the ph of their water to be between 6.0 and 7.2 max. about 7 is better. if your ph goes to 7.8 for eg the key point is not to panic!!!!! people do this and they end up loosing all their fish! dont panic and it will be ok!.