PDA

View Full Version : Water conditions help please

needspeed73
Tue Mar 12, 2013, 10:56 AM
I lashed out and bought an API master kit and GH/KH.
I tested the tap water - unrested
pH Ammonia Nitrite Nitrate GH KH
7.4 0.25 0 0 107.4 3

Then i tested established 3ft planted driftwooded tank with discus...
7.4 0.25 0 0 107.4 3

Then i tested 4 day old 4ft planted driftwooded tank with filter that had been running in tandem with 3ft tank for a week
7.4 0.25 0 0 107.4 3

Now i know im new to this BUT how are they all the same?
Everytime i changed testing samples the equipment was washed in clean water and shaken dry.
My discus are happy and healthy, (Photo) but the pH needs to be dropped... doesnt it?
If my tap water is always high do i need co2?

Any help is appreciated

Ghoti
Tue Mar 12, 2013, 08:03 PM
The ph is higher than what the text books would recommend, but your discus will be fine. If you want then to breed you would need the ph to drop.

The ammonia reading is what should be concerning you. Its not good to have ammonia present and no nitrite or nitrate. To me that says your tanks have not yet cycled.

How long has your 3 foot been established? If a month or more how often do you clean your filter and do you use water from the tank?

Cheers,
Scott

needspeed73
Tue Mar 12, 2013, 10:25 PM
Scott
The established tank is now 9 months old.
I have cleaned the filter twice. Is there a recommended filter clean cycle?
The 3 foot tank was left for 4 weeks before i put fish in it, as i knew of cycling tanks.
The Discus ARE happy, no stress bars, eat well etc. They each have their own personalities and the higher pH doesnt seem to be affecting them. When they move to the 4 foot tank i would like to get it right and maybe some babies. That would be nice.
I have just re-read the api ammonia instructions and it says leave for 5 mins...... Hang 5.....3 foot tank.....Hang another 5.... New 4ft...
3 Foot is 0. Duh