PDA

View Full Version : First discus setup

mdj131
Wed Jan 18, 2012, 07:00 PM
I just got a decent sized aquarium for a song and I figured I would post my plans here and hopefully learn something in the feedback!

I am no expert, no way no how, but I have been running aquariums from 5 gallons to 55 gallons for about 25 years now, for the last 10 or so focusing on planted tanks except for a brief stint breeding guppies. I figured this would be a great place to air out my ideas for the new tank before they are set in stone so to speak, let some real pro's who know more than I do share their wisdom so the fish I end up getting will be healthier and happier.

The glass is 4'L x 21"T x 18"W, I expect the water column to be about 18-19 inches after soil is in. I was told it is a 100 gallon tank, I am too lazy to do the math.

Substrate: First time using vermiculite soaked in Blood Meal, a high nitrogen, zero ammonia zero phosphate fertilizer. I am hoping the Blood meal wont discolor the water. It will be under sand, about 50% of which I will be removing from the eco-complete in a seasoned 55 this tank will replace. The sand only, no gravel, will be 2-3 inches deep, the vermiculite mixture under it less than 1 inch. Almost forgot, I added about 4 handfuls of Canadian sphagnum peat moss (couldn't find bog peat around here) to the vermiculite. I doubt I will ever have to add black-water extract because this has worked well for me in other aquariums keeping the tannins a nice natural black-water color all the time, for years at a time. My 55 gallon has a vermiculite /peat/sand mixture and the plants have done well for years, so I am hoping the addition of Blood meal will improve on whats been working for me. Seems like Blood Meal would be high in iron, right? It is very high in organic nitrogen. Is it possible too much iron/nitrogen could leech from under the sand and hurt the fish?