PDA

View Full Version : Gill seems to b closed

swifto
Mon Apr 11, 2011, 09:15 AM
hi all,one of b/d seem to have 1 gill working while the other side seems to b clamped close also have noticed a 0.5cm string like thread hanging from vent .I think it could b gill flukes and worms not sure as im only new to the discus world (6 months).tank conditions ar temp=30,ph=6.0,ammonia=.25ppm,nitrite=0ppm,nitrate =0ppm.Some other fish were flashing and doing a kinda twitching motion.any ideas thanks.

lpiasente
Mon Apr 11, 2011, 10:01 AM
Ammonia should be 0 keep up with the water changes. Does sound like gill fluke. Don't ya hate it when your fish aren't well.

boxters
Mon Apr 11, 2011, 10:15 AM
It's easy to see things wrong that don't exist. At some time or other we have all done it. Rob I mentioned you ate going to have these issues because of what has been in the tank before. If we constantly treat the fish they are going to die. I would remove the gravel if you have any in there. If it is flukes and we need to be sure first, I suggest treating with formalin followed by potassium permanganate

swifto
Mon Apr 11, 2011, 10:29 AM
why remove gravel its been in there for only 6 months.water changes are 60-80ltrevery couple days,and double dosing stability to combat ammonia level.

swifto
Mon Apr 11, 2011, 11:00 AM
Sorry for stupid and some what lack of knowledge.just did abit of research,where can i buy formalin.I guess condys crystals u can get at chemist.

lpiasente
Tue Apr 12, 2011, 09:25 AM
be very very very careful when treating with these 2 chemicals. I have a feeling if you get a cross over of these 2 chemicals they will kill your fish....IILUSION just checking here.. is this right.

swifto
Tue Apr 12, 2011, 09:43 AM