PDA

View Full Version : after metro

Mathias
Sat Apr 09, 2011, 11:09 AM
hello my name is mat and im new to this amazing world of discus, i have had fish for what seems like forever but over the last 6 months i have found the love of discus anyway ive had my discus for 6 months and about a month ago one fell sick, had white poo wouldn't eat always hid and when it was still it was on its side. so i found a vet that would give me metro if i showed them photo's i treated my tank accordingly and the first 2 weeks went by and it wasn't coming out to much just hiding its was very dark and not eating to much. Now its been 3 to 4 weeks and its coming out a lot more, eating a little more but not enough in my opinion, but if anyone comes near the tank it darts and hides but still its stress bars are so so dark dark black so really my question is do fish ever fully recover after metro.
thank you
mat
and thank you for this site

boxters
Sat Apr 09, 2011, 09:47 PM
Fish in most cases will recover after metro. I need some more info. Did you use liquid or tablet form metro?

What is your ph, kh, gh,ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, temp.

Is your tank bare bottom?

Are there plants in your tank?

What other fish are in the tank?

What size tank is it?

Tell me about how you do water changes

Mathias
Sun Apr 10, 2011, 08:32 AM
Sorry ok my ph is always 6.8 everything else is at perfect levels temp 29c
3 foot 150L community tank rocks, wood, plants few cardinal tetras a few glass cat fish 1 angle that's very fat 2 gold suckers and a few other little tetras and my 2 discus. Nothing picks on my discus and before my little one got sick it was the boss of the tank. I do my water changes 3 times a week 30 %, 30%, 50% and always use ro water with acid and alkaline buffers to bring it to 6.8 i do this the day before, i also use Equilibrium on my first 30% change and my 50% change and i use Flourish and flourish excel and discus code additive every few days.

Mathias
Sun Apr 10, 2011, 09:01 AM