PDA

View Full Version : 2 filtration questions

simmo2302
Tue Sep 01, 2009, 12:55 AM
1. when it comes to cannister filters (or just filters in general) is there a recommended amount of filtration needed ?

ie. 4 times the volume of water per hour (250 litre tank = 1000L/hr filter)

2. there are a wide range of filter media options, are there any do's and dont with these options?

(ie. sponges,foam, carbon, bio rings, & other compounds that remove specific things like ammonia, nitrates, etc etc.)

(i am just running a basic, filter pad & ceramic bio ring setup at the moment)

xrboy_85
Fri Sep 04, 2009, 02:09 AM
Hi Simmo

I am no expert but ill throw my 2c in to try and help

my understanding is about that 3x ltrs = ltr/phr

your sponges are for partical removal, bio balls/ noodle are for good bacteria developement this will help with keeping water conditions stable.

carbon media is for removing things like medications and should only be there after your fish are better.

ammonia/ nittrite remover etc i dont bother with due to doing regular water changes. water changes are your friend and the easier you can make doing this the happier you and your fish will be.

and i quote a user on the forum hear who states " dilution is the solution to polution" which has always stuck in my head!!

and always clean your filter with tank water not tap to avoid killilng your good bacteria.

Hopefuly this is helpful if anyone notices something here is not right please correct,

Regards Justin

ILLUSN
Fri Sep 04, 2009, 08:48 AM
with canister 2 things you NEED to remember real world flow if diffrent to flow rate on the box (usually tested empty with 0 head height.

its media and contact time that do the filtration NOT flow rate!

aim for a flow arte of 2-3x the volume of the tank and AS MUCH MEDIA CAPACITY AS YOU CAN GET!