PDA

View Full Version : Need Help With A Planted Discus Tank

Steve-o
Tue Jan 29, 2008, 05:03 AM
Hey Guys... so i want to make a really nice planted discus tank... i have a 48x21x12/1/2 (55Gal) tank... im using florice substrate under playground sand and 2 store bought co2 yeast fermentors. what should i do as far as lighting?? i know discus can be skittish from light that is too bright... right now i have a standard duel florescent light... each bulb is 40 watts... what do you suggest... new bulbs? new unit? am I fine with what i have? I'm new to doing live plants so any suggestions would be awesome... :D

ILLUSN
Tue Jan 29, 2008, 05:30 AM
Your unit will be fine for low to medium light plants, just remember to change the globes every 6 months, the best would be 2 sylvania growlux tubes, they're not too bright but put out alot of red light which is good for green plants.

other sugestion would be to plant the tank 1st, then just let it run for a month at around 26-27C, over the next moth gradually build the temp up to 28-30C before you introduce the discus.

keep an eye on your CO2 , yeast can be tempremental on bigger tanks.

Greggy
Tue Jan 29, 2008, 12:57 PM
I don't think Discus are skittish under bright light, well not tank raised Discus. I have approx 260Watts of light over my 6x2x2 and my Discus are just fine, always at the front of the tank following me along begging me to give them food.

I've seen some very brightly lit Discus tanks and the Discus in those look ok too. As long as the water quality is good (absolutely no NH3 or NO2 etc) they won't mind at all so long as you have a dim corner here or there where they can go if they feel like avoiding the lime light.

Regards,

Greggy

Steve-o
Tue Jan 29, 2008, 08:09 PM