PDA

View Full Version : starting a planted discus tank

elphenomenon
Tue Oct 23, 2007, 08:16 AM
hi
i've been keeping a few discus for several months and now want to try keeping them in a planted tank as ive seen some pretty nice pics on this forum and sort of quite jelous. in a good way ofcourse!

i've been reading several posts about a plant setup and still feel like i don't know anything. i know i need some substrate, fertilizers, co2 something, and a good light to get started. they all seem so expensive.

what would be a cheap approach to a setup like this? as money is a big factor for me.

i'm looking to setup up a 4' tank only mediumly planted. btw some tanks have this grassy looking plant covering a lot of the substrate surface. what are they called?

cheers louie

apistodiscus
Tue Oct 23, 2007, 08:32 AM
the grassy plants you are referring to are probably Echinodorus tenellus. I don't recommend them since they attract dirt like nothing else unless you have a tank cleaning fetish to keep them clean of all debris :lol:

Try Echinodorus quadricostatus. A bit bigger but a lot easier on the maintenance and you will not require as much light, CO2 and fertilizer either.

Don't worry about buying those expensive bulbs that the aquarium trade is offering for the planted tank. Get one warmwhite and one coldwhite bulb or multiples therof and you'll be Ok.

What plants did you have in mind?

ILLUSN
Tue Oct 23, 2007, 09:24 AM
apistodiscus is right about E.tenellus being a magnet for dirt, unfortunately most low growing "lawns" are, i've had the best reults growing java moss on slate as a lawn, when you clean the tank, take it ff, give it a shake in a bucket of clean water (or tank water) and put it back in. easy as.