PDA

View Full Version : My Discus is Dying Please Help

legni08
Sat Sep 08, 2007, 07:44 AM
Hi all new to this forum there is lots of fantastic people here with excellent information so I am really hoping someone can please help me...

I have two discus in a small tank, recently the smaller of the two began changing colour, as I am new to discus I didn't think anything of it!

Now, it is a very dark colour and its not eating around 5 days... I have also noticed that other fish, Rummy Nose and cardinal tetras have a fungal infection white fury looking fungus around the mouth and fins?

I was told this was cotton mouth and to treat with Primafix (Pimenta racemosa) which i did for three days, but to no avail! Then read on this forum it was a big mistake so I stopped.

I went to the shop and the manager said to do the following!

1. Do a 20% water change and add three tables of triple-sulfa
(seems to be working ok, 1 day now and fish is lightening up)
2. Add 1 teaspoon of tropical water conditioner with contains salts per 20 ltrs.
3. Do 10% water changes over three days replacing salts
4. Slowly increase the PH to 6.5
5. Add O2 with air stone.

If the condition doesn't improve then use Aquari-Cycine tables which contain tetracycline hydrochloride. Remove plants!

I dont have a hospital tank like people talk about so I have just been treating in the same tank, here are the water specs...

Water
PH: 6.8
Ammonia: 0mg/L
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 10ppm
Tank Volume = 80 litres

I have darkened the tank and turned the light on for some photos, but the tank is starting to grow some white moss looking stuff around things, no dead fish in the tank!!

Anyway here are some photos..

http://www.bdirect.com.au/assets/fish/1.jpg

http://www.bdirect.com.au/assets/fish/3.jpg

http://www.bdirect.com.au/assets/fish/6.jpg

It is very thin because its not eating, I really do hope it pulls through how do I fix this problem! :?

Merrilyn
Sat Sep 08, 2007, 07:59 AM
He's a very sick little fish.