PDA

View Full Version : Discus are sick!! How to cure Fin Rot and Slimy Coat!?

discusbarlas
Wed Aug 08, 2007, 06:27 AM
Hello.. I am a bit new to discus.

My tank is 40 Gal with 6 baby discus and 6 baby angel fish.

My Water Parameter are:

PH = 6.5
KH = between 1-3dh
GH = 6dh
NO2 = 0
NO3 = 35
Temp = 30C

I want to reduce Nitrate in my tank. I am doing 50% water change every 2 days with RO water.

I have Ehem Classic Canester Filter + Overhead SUMP filter with Coral and Filter media + Gravel Filter which I use some time.

The main problem with my discus fish is that they are getting SLIMY COAT on them and are DARK and one of them have FIN ROT problem started.

I have Melafix and Tetra General Tonic. I cannot have Metro or other medicine which are mostly available in US, AUS.. as I live in United Arab Emirates.

Can someone please assist me urgently to cure this issue!?!? :(:(

taksan
Wed Aug 08, 2007, 09:11 AM
Metro is available in the big Chinese run shop down near the beach.

Merrilyn
Wed Aug 08, 2007, 10:11 AM
Welcome to the forum :P

When you say you have baby discus fish, can you tell me just what size they are?

I like to try the simple approach first, and as your fish have just been purchased, I'm inclined to think that it may be due to the stress of travelling, rather than any particular illness.

Have you seen the colour of their droppings. Is it normal brown or is it white. If it's brown, and the babies are still eating, then it's not too serious, and a dose of salt in the water should solve the problem.

Treat your fish by adding one heap teaspoon of rock salt or plain cooking salt per 40 litres of water (or ten gallons of water) and keep it at this level for 7 days. You should see some improvement in the slime coat of the babies, and some regrowth in the fins.

If it starts to look worse, or if your babies stop eating, please let us know straight away.