PDA

View Full Version : Plants & Discus

TW
Sat Jun 23, 2007, 02:58 PM
Hi there

I'm new to discus, but have had a planted tank now for a little over a year. I'm planning a high light & Pressurised C02 tank and dream of being able to grow the red plants that my current low lights just can't manage (although I already run pressurised C02). I spend time on another planted forum & the gang there loved my discus pics, but have been warning me that I may have trouble with plants now, as some think many plants don't like the higher temps that a discus tank demands. Some say I may experience more trouble with algae & have a more restricted plant choice now.

I have looked at pics here of planted tanks and there are some really beautiful ones.

Is there truth to what I'm being told. Do I need to be a little more careful of plant choices, with the higher temps now that I have discus?

Thanks in advance.

fish_r
Sat Jun 23, 2007, 03:20 PM
i only run about 2.5wpg of T5 lighting and Pres Co2, but cant say iv'e had too many problems growing most plants iv'e tried so far. red and green rotala mac goes absolutely crazy. got some ludwigia going really stupid at the moment. also just put some needle leaf ludwigia in a few days ago and it's growing really well too. havnt tried too many other red ones that i can remember other than them, but i dont have really high light either.
i dont really think 3-4c is going to make too much off a difference to what ever u grow if all ur params are right.
but this is only my opinion though. i did have algae problems a while ago but it was more due to not getting the balance of ferts right and using a crappy Co2 diffuser. "like i pointed out to u on AL, since i have got a better hand on them two things the tank has picked up two fold FC :)

DIY
Sun Jun 24, 2007, 02:33 AM
I'm no expert, so I'm basing my answers on my personal experience as well as plenty of reading about planted, and planted discus tanks. so you can take it for what it's worth :D