PDA

View Full Version : Ph has risen from 6.8 to 7.8 from using airstones over night

axl
Mon Apr 30, 2007, 09:20 PM
Hi,
last night i setup to airstones on timers and i checked the ph this morning and it has gone from ph 6.8 to 7.8. Why is this??? the co2 turns of at night with the lights on a timer. Creating oxygen shouldnt make the ph swing so much. I need urgent help on this 1 lucky i didnt have my disuc in there yet i get them on sunday.
Whats the go

flaggy
Mon Apr 30, 2007, 10:30 PM
The airstone increases surface turbelance and drives off carbon dioxide from the water... causing the pH to increase.

axl
Mon Apr 30, 2007, 10:43 PM
Oh ok dint no that, is there any way of stopping it. This is way to much ph swing for the discus. Do other people get the same swing. What am i going to do???.

revkev
Mon Apr 30, 2007, 10:57 PM
I run a 6x2x2 planted discus tank with CO2 24hrs 7days ph 6.50 I have been using CO2 like this for over 12 months with no problems just adjust your bubble count to get the ph you want.
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e341/revkev77/th_MVC-002F-5.jpg (http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e341/revkev77/MVC-002F-5.jpg)
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e341/revkev77/th_MVC-001F-5.jpg (http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e341/revkev77/MVC-001F-5.jpg)
Substate Ecocomplete with Tunze 80watt under gravel heating, Heating 2 Eheim 300watt,Filters Fluval FX5 & Aquaone 1200lph with Pondmaster 36 watt UV on outlet, Lighting T5 twin 5ft 80watts tubes on timer,Aquatronica aquarium controller.

ILLUSN
Mon Apr 30, 2007, 11:38 PM
WOW! thats a massive swing i didn't think you'd get one that big, your gonna have to try what i did, run your CO2 and your air constantly, i'm running 4-5 pbs (yes i know thats alot its a 4x2x2 tank) of co2 24/7 and i run my air pump 24/7 you'll have to "tune" the out put of your air pump till ph stays where you want and fish dont gasp. sorry mate this is the PAIN of discus and plants.