PDA

View Full Version : About to order discus...could use some help

Erk
Thu Mar 15, 2007, 05:32 PM
Im planning on ordering some discus soon, and as im reading some threads on the forum, it sounds like I need to raise my temp, but I already have two fish Im keeping a close eye on, cause they like water cooler then they are in right now....no quarantine tank either

What do you guys suggest I do? Temp is 81-82F The Queen Arabesque likes up to 79F and the cory cat likes up 72F???

I was planning on ordering 3x2.5" discus to arrive by the 24th of march

Thanks a lot!

Erk
Thu Mar 15, 2007, 05:38 PM
Oh yeah, and the ottos like up to 79F I always forget about them

Thanks

Hail2Pitt02
Thu Mar 15, 2007, 06:10 PM
Erk, it sounds like you might be trying to hammer a square peg in a round hole. I am not an expert by any stretch but I do know the basics and I do believe the current occupants of your tank are not going to appreciate you turning the tank temp to 83-84 degrees Fahrenheit (not to mention your plants in some cases). In addition as a minimum a full grown adult discus needs 5 gallons of water per fish, 10 would be a much better idea. Adding three discus will eventually overstock your tank which is a bad, bad idea with discus. Your tank already seems like it might be overstocked as it is. On the surface it does not appear to be, but nitrates of 20 indicate otherwise. Doing weekly 40% water changes leaves leads me to say hold off adding more fish right now. With discus you want to keep the water pristine….more than perfect for them to thrive. This means keeping nitrates as close to 0 as possible. I would venture that most who have those beautiful show discus with the vibrant colors keep nitrates at less than 10. You may to consider doing two 40% WCs a week to see where that takes your nitrates. Last but not least I would consider adding some additional filtration, especially if you add fish. An AC 110 or Emperor 400 would be perfect.