PDA

View Full Version : Greeting from Pittsburgh, PA!

Hail2Pitt02
Mon Feb 12, 2007, 09:01 PM
Good afternoon everyone…or morning depending in what part of the world you are in 

Anyway I just wanted to introduce myself and let you know what lead to my finding discusforums.com. I currently live outside of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in the US. I have been keeping fish for about 8 years previous to today. I was actually starting to getting a little bored with the hobby when I decided I wanted to challenge myself, have a little fun in the process and maybe even make some coin (I would love to get out of the corporate world). I decided I wanted to take a shot at breeding discus. I just moved in my new house in July and it has a nice big basement which is just begging for fish tanks all over.

Right now I am in the R&D part of the project. I know I am going to need a R/O unit because the PH of the water around here is about 7.8. the KH is somewhat on the low side at 2. I am fairly sure I can manage those issues but what scares me a little is the water changing regiment. I have always done weekly 50% water changes in my other tanks which most of the time kept nitrates under 20 ppm but I do not want to have to manually change water on 10-15 tanks daily. I am looking to build some type of automated water changing device/ wet/dry central filtration device. If I can figure out a way to do that then I will go ahead with my plans.