PDA

View Full Version : Red discus varieties question...

mtchye
Tue Sep 21, 2004, 08:50 AM
Hi guys,

I am new to the world of discus. I'm a little confused over the large variety of different red discus on offer here. Whats the differences between a San Merah, Bunga Raya, Red Alenquer, etc Many of these look similar as adults to my uneducated eye. If someone could explain discus genetics a little to me it would be much appreciated or point me towards a good website to research from.

Also I was thinking of buying the golden pigeon snakeskin pair advertised in the classifieds (if not sold by saturday)...

If they bred, would they probably breed true or would a large number of varieties come out?

Sorry for so many newbie questions, and thanks for your time :)

Cheers
Vincent

kevkoi
Tue Sep 21, 2004, 11:12 AM
There are pictures of them....
Bunga Raya aka Super Red Melon.... selected from the Red melon lines which are originally from Pigeon blood stock. Although they are selected for minimal speckling, I find that it still does occur and it is very hard to get one that is spotless.

San Merah originally comes from a crossing between the Ghost discus as Malboro Reds. These fellas don't speckle....

Super Red Alenquer are bred from Red Alenquer lines and selected for their red colouration (possibly also crossed with the malboro lines to get the reds). These fish have a tendency to also get striations (like the Alenquers they come from) on their head and fins. I tend to select and prefer the Super Red Alenquers without striations. :wink: (just personal preference.)

mtchye
Tue Sep 21, 2004, 11:31 AM
Thanks Kev, that really explains a lot. I am not a big fan of pigeon like speckling but the red on that first pic you posted is awesome! The alenquers are very nice also but I really like the deep red in the first super red melon... No wonder you guys can't pick and keep so many varieties lol

kevkoi
Tue Sep 21, 2004, 01:33 PM